top of page
Search
  • Ms. Ponask

Bird Song Hero

I noticed last week a new song bird that I am not used to hearing during my mornings. It was a bird I loved hearing while camping as a young Brownie and Girl Guide, but have not heard so much at my current home. In my quest to figure out what the bird was online, I came across a game I thought students may enjoy!




One plays each song as many times as they want, then select the matching spectrogram. Spectograms are graphs that show you the frequency, or pitch (high or low), of a sound, its loudness, and how these change over the course of the sound. With a little practice, they can reveal much more about a sound than your ears could ever detect on their own!



Many of the birds in the game do not live in our community, but I think a few might! It interesting to hear the different bird calls and see how they look if we were to notate them.


The bird I heard at my house was not featured in the Bird Hero game. By asking friends and family though, I found out there was a little White-throated Sparrow in my neighbourhood.



What kinds of birds do you see and hear in your neighbourhood?


Take care and stay well everyone.

Sincerely,

Ms. Ponask



27 views
bottom of page